Skip to main content

Home Forums Grow Community – Ask Questions & Share Your Grow! Specific Dosing Per Plant for RDWC Reservoir Tank

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Kanga
    Participant

Hi Guys!

I would like to ask you a question to get some clarity on dosing nutrients in a hydroponic reservoir tank (RDWC).

I understand that the fundamental nutrients, such as the NPK, would be measured by ppm/EC; however, when adding Si, CaMag, or other supplements, they have recommendations like 5 mL/1L or 2 mL/1L, etc.

I work as a nurse, and in paediatrics, we give medications to children based on their weight; e.g., medication is written for mg/1kg, and the child is 15kg, so the correct dose is 15mg.

I only grow two plants, and the dosing recommendations are broad and apply to the reservoir tank as a whole, not plant number-specific. So I am unsure if I am overdosing or underdosing and potentially wasting nutrients.

My understanding of the RDWC basic guideline per plant is between 5 and 20 litres for the reservoir. Does this mean I gradually start with 5 litres per plant, then work up to 20 litres while sticking to the recommended dose? Or should I try to find the recommended doses per plant size weekly? Eg. The application of Si no more than 200 ppm/week?

Can you please provide some clarity?

Thank you

Kanga

CamZ