Skip to main content

Home Forums Grow Community – Ask Questions & Share Your Grow! Chat GPT helped me design a system, what’s wrong with it?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    jamestee98
    Participant

<p style=”text-align: left;”>Hi,</p>
    I am completely new to hydroponics and was coming up with a theoretical small NFT system to be placed on a windowsill. I was a bit overwhelmed with all the information out there so I used chat GPT to help me create a theoretical system. Now I know NFT might not be optimal in this environment but I think it’s cool so I want to do it so assume that is essential. Also I know this is generally a cannabis forum but I found Mr. Grow from a podcast about hydroponics in general so was hoping you could give this plan a read and point out anything that looks crazy before I build the thing. Thank you so much. The below is output from ChatGPT:

“JT System Summary 1:

System Type: Nutrient Film Technique (NFT)
    Number of Channels: 2
    Plants per Channel: 2 (Chillies)
    Plants per Channel: 2 (Strawberries)
    Channel Dimensions: 50cm (L) x 7.5cm (W) x 15cm (D)
    Reservoir Capacity: 8 liters
    Reservoir Dimensions: 40cm (L) x 10cm (W) x 20cm (D)

Head height 30cm

Desired channel water Depth: 4-5mm
    Pump Power: 30 watts
    Pump Flow Rate: 1-2 liters per minute
    Recommended EC (Electrical Conductivity) and pH ranges:
    Seedling Stage: EC: 0.8-1.2 mS/cm, pH: around 6
    Vegetative Stage: EC: 1.2-2 mS/cm, pH: around 6
    Flowering Stage: EC: 1.8-2.8 mS/cm, pH: around 6
    Nutrient Formulation:
    To achieve these general macronutrient concentrations:
    Nitrogen (N): 2-3%
    Phosphorus (P): 1-2%
    Potassium (K): 3-5%
    Calcium (Ca): 1-2%
    Magnesium (Mg): 0.5-1%
    Sulfur (S): 0.2-0.5%
    Macronutrients:
    20-20-20 N-P-K Mix
    Nitrogen (N), Phosphorus (P) and Pottassium (K) and Add 64 grams of 20-20-20 mix to the 8L reservoir
    Calcium Nitrate: